Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Ben McKean 272 posts 549 karma points
    Jun 11, 2020 @ 09:45
    Ben McKean
    0

    Change language of a site

    Hi, I have a site which is in development. The content has been created with the default language of en-US. However, I want to change that content to be en-GB.

    From my understanding this isn't as simple as changing the culture with the hostname as I want the drop down at the top changing to English UK.

    If I switch to English there is no content as that language has not previously been published. I don't want to lose the content I have, I just want to change the language of the US site to UK.

    Thanks in advance

    Ben

  • Stefan Kip 1614 posts 4131 karma points c-trib
    Jun 11, 2020 @ 09:48
    Stefan Kip
    100

    Maybe you can change the columns languageISOCode and languageCultureName in the umbracoLanguage table inside the database?

    Back-up your DB before doing so ofcourse...

  • Ben McKean 272 posts 549 karma points
    Jun 11, 2020 @ 10:00
    Ben McKean
    0

    This appears to have fixed it, thanks Stefan!

  • Stefan Kip 1614 posts 4131 karma points c-trib
    Jun 11, 2020 @ 10:01
    Stefan Kip
    0

    Good stuff!

  • Mikael Axel Kleinwort 140 posts 483 karma points c-trib
    Nov 03, 2023 @ 07:45
    Mikael Axel Kleinwort
    0

    For anybody coming across this question in 2023:

    You can do this change now directly in the back office. Just go to Settings - Languages and edit the language, i.,e. change it from en-US to en-GB.

    Upon saving the language item, you will be notifed that this will trigger a cache rebuild, and that's it. All content is still there.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft