Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Srinivas 2 posts 72 karma points
    Jul 10, 2020 @ 08:30
    Srinivas

Package and Upgrade umbraco

Hello All,

I am new to Umbraco implementation. Need help! Could somebody help me with the below 2 questions? 1) Can we package Umbraco v7.7.7 (Along with application) into a zip file using visual studio? (I can't use back-office to package). I need to package from source code.

2) Can we use the above package in Umbraco v8?

Thank you in advance!

• Joseph D'Souza 3 posts 75 karma points
    Jul 10, 2020 @ 08:49
    Joseph D'Souza

Hi,

It's going to be quite tricky to manually create a package, but it can be done. A package file is a ZIP that essentially consists of all the necessary files required for the package to work (no directories) along with an XML file (package.xml) that describes the destination of the files, package info, document types, actions, and so on. The XML would look something like this;

<umbPackage>
     <files>
       <file>
         <guid>My.Example.dll</guid>
         <orgPath>~/bin</orgPath>
         <orgName>My.Example.dll</orgName>
       <file>
     <info>
      <package>
        <name>Package name</name>
        <version>1.0.0</version>
       </package>
     </info>
     </umbPackage>

Check this out for a full example: https://our.umbraco.com/documentation/extending/Packages/Creating-a-Package/

As for whether it would work for Umbraco 8, it's really circumstantial and depends on the package. I would say most complex packages will have some teething issues after the major update, but the only want to know is to give it a go!

Good luck

• Srinivas 2 posts 72 karma points
    Jul 10, 2020 @ 09:46
    Srinivas

Hi Joseph,

Thank you for the response!

How shall I create a package.xml file, is it using umbpack or any other tool? Once the xml is created, what are the next steps?