Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Gordon Smith 20 posts 102 karma points
    Aug 07, 2020 @ 16:43
    Gordon Smith

How to update Umbraco content in controller?

I'm building a site that has members who can log in and add/update their own business listings.

"Business" is a document type in Umbraco.

I am stumped when it comes to creating a view to allow a logged-in member to edit their own business listing.

I cannot understand how to access to Umbraco-created model for the Business listing in a form postback (preferably Ajax postback).

The "get" action works OK, and populates my form fine.

But the "post" action - I don't know how to post the Business model back to the action, or post an Id so I can get the Content in the controller. Even though I don't know how to update the content with the form data.

I'm looking for some simple example online for this. Do you know of any?

I'm new to Umbraco and MVC so working out whether my problem is Umbraco or MVC-related is really difficult.

Thanks to everybody in advance.

Aug 10, 2020 @ 18:46
    Gordon Smith

I have made some progress but I am not there yet.

I have managed to build a View that's bound to an Umbraco document type.

However the form validation is not running and ModelState.IsValid therefore always returns true.

I narrowed this down to the fact that the ModelsBuilder (I am using AppData) does not put data annotations in the *.generated.cs files so the validation attributes are not output on the controls in the View.

I tried manually putting data annotations in my Business.generated.cs file. This worked when compiled but of course is overwritten every time the project is built.

So how do you tell Umbraco to add the data annotatations or otherwise how do you leverage MVC validation for Umbraco content type?

• Steve Morgan 1345 posts 4452 karma points c-trib
    Aug 11, 2020 @ 10:10
    Steve Morgan