Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Tara Pattenden 44 posts 205 karma points
    Sep 02, 2020 @ 01:00
    Tara Pattenden

404 errors when inserting any value

Hi I am a complete noob at umbraco but have a lot of programming experience. Working on a theme i was originally told was in wordpress but now I am in the job it's umbraco and i'm trying to learn on the fly

I am working with a website that is already installed. I am trying to make a new template. I created a doc type, and a template and a content item using the doc type.

The issue I am having is as soon as i insert any of the values from the doc type then i get the following error.

No umbraco document matches the url '/error.aspx?aspxerrorpath=/2268.aspx'.

To insert the values I am using the drop down menu at the top of the template page.

if it's just static content in the page, everything shows up

Is there somewhere else i need to link up the content. Or is there an issue with aspx - I've not worked with aspx before. I'm hoping there's an obvious step that I don't know about.

This is the code in the current page - this does not work

@{
        Layout = null;
    }

<section class="grid-container py24 md:py48">
        <div class="rte">
            @Umbraco.Field("tickertape")
        </div>

</section>

however this does work

@{
        Layout = null;
    }

<section class="grid-container py24 md:py48">
        <div class="rte">
            @Umbraco.Field("tickertape")
        </div>

</section>

Thanks in advance

• Steve Morgan 1346 posts 4453 karma points c-trib
    Sep 02, 2020 @ 07:41
    Steve Morgan

Did you accidentally paste the same code snippet or is that the query you have?!?

Sep 02, 2020 @ 07:44
    Steve Morgan

One small thing - I wouldn't have thought ":" is a valid character in a css class name. But that wouldn't break Razor.