Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Tara Pattenden 44 posts 205 karma points
    Sep 29, 2020 @ 02:49
    Tara Pattenden

Understanding automated image cropping

Hi I am working on an existing Umbraco site, I'm fairly new to umbraco. The site seems to automatically crop the images but the client is asking if we can change how the images crop.

From searching through the site. I can see that in the image.generated.cs cropping is mentioned here

///<summary>
            /// Upload image
            ///</summary>
            [ImplementPropertyType("umbracoFile")]
            public Umbraco.Web.Models.ImageCropDataSet UmbracoFile
            {
                get { return this.GetPropertyValue<Umbraco.Web.Models.ImageCropDataSet>("umbracoFile"); }
            }

Can anyone advise where I would look to find the crop settings? I'm not really understanding how it all works. Thanks for your help. Tara

• Nik 1593 posts 7151 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Sep 29, 2020 @ 07:51
    Nik

Hi Tara,

So, there are 4 parts to your question and I'll try and address them in, what I hope is a logical, order.

1. Where are crops defined?

Based on the snippet you've shared above, I suspect you are using the default image cropper data type. So in Umbraco if you go to the, I think, Settings (it could be Developer) section, there is an item in the menu tree called "Data Types". In there you should find a "Image Cropper" type defined. Most likely your explicit crops are defined on there. However, it's possible that they are located directly in templates, but we will re-visit that a bit later.

2. Assuming the crops are defined on the Image Cropper data type, if you want to keep the dimension but change which parts of the image are used how do you do this?