Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Eric 5 posts 75 karma points
    Jan 04, 2021 @ 15:52
    Eric
    0

    Umbraco v8 And IIS Express site bindings

    I wonder if anyone is able to give me some insights into getting Umbraco v8 to work multi-site (custom domains [not subdomain]) from a single instance locally?

    Here's what I've done:

    1. Downloaded Umbraco v8 & built using Visual Studio 2019 targeting the ASP.NET 4.8 framework (I've gotten the okay on this from the Umbraco Team).

    2. Created two Home sites and set their culture/hostnames to: https://testone.localhost & https://testtwo.localhost respectively enter image description here

    3. I set the bindings for IIS Express in the config file to each enter image description here

    Yet, with these configurations when i go to one of the https://testx.localhost pages; the browser acts like its perpetually loading a page or I get Error 400 (invalid hostname)

    Additionally, if I attach port at the end i get the same issue

  • Darek Szatkowski 6 posts 76 karma points
    Jan 06, 2021 @ 18:02
    Darek Szatkowski
    0

    Hey Eric.

    Check out this guide - https://skrift.io/issues/using-one-umbraco-instance-to-host-multiple-sites/

    I know that it's for Umbraco v7 but the way you build a project with multiple root nodes is the same both in v7 and v8.

  • Eric 5 posts 75 karma points
    Jan 08, 2021 @ 14:06
    Eric
    0

    Thanks for the tip Darek. However, this step always causes a null reference error (Object reference not set to an instance of an object)

    Changing the Umbraco configuration

    Now you’re set up in the back office, we have to make a configuration change in umbracoSettings.config to allow us to have multiple domains. Find the property of requestHandler and change the useDomainPrefixes to true. This makes sure that you're not able to access content from one site on another domain, which can lead to duplicate content issues.

  • Eric 5 posts 75 karma points
    Jan 14, 2021 @ 14:37
    Eric
    0

    Still not working here...

  • Steve Morgan 1276 posts 4194 karma points c-trib
    Jan 14, 2021 @ 14:52
    Steve Morgan
    1

    Eric,

    I'm not 100% but I don't think you're going to get much joy running IIS Express with multiple https sites on the same port.

    I would think you'd be best setting up a proper IIS instance and bind the domains there.

    I tend to only use IISExpress for a quick test - once I'm trying to develop a multi domain site I use IIS and just attached the debugger when needed (most of the time a simple build suffices).

    Steve

  • Eric 5 posts 75 karma points
    Jan 22, 2021 @ 17:40
    Eric
    0

    Interesting thanks Steve. I've only ever used IIS Express with Visual Studio. I can do a quick google search on how to do that, but before I do so; do you have an article or method that you'd recommend?

  • Steve Morgan 1276 posts 4194 karma points c-trib
    Jan 25, 2021 @ 11:53
    Steve Morgan
    0

    Just create an IIS instance - point it at your website folder.

    Then in VS change

    Right Click on Web Project → Properties → Start options → Use Custom Server → Base URL → Enter Site Address as Hosted in IIS. Hit F5 and you will be able to Debug your code

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft