Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Kiko Mats 13 posts 103 karma points
    Feb 01, 2021 @ 11:37
    Kiko Mats

Need to implement a page with search call from api and wrapping everything in an Umbraco Package.

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to Umbraco and to this forum. I wonder if you can help me out.

Requirement: Basically, we have an existing site using Umbraco 8. I have a task to implement a simple page that does searching/filtering of an external data set and display the results in a grid/table. Now these results are coming from an api call.

One of the challenges is that the V.S. solution file is no longer available. Past updates for this site were mostly content or UI related and thus they only needed to adjust the view templates which can be done in Umbraco admin. But now they need more functionalities.

Because of the mentioned limitation, it was suggested to explore the option of using umbraco packages for this kind of extension. Now I have started some reading on how to build and implement the Property Editor (from Mr. Paul Seal) but I'm not sure how to tie this up to the requirement I have above. And most packages I have seen so far, (though I haven't checked a lot), are updates on the admin side of umbraco and not a something that would appear in the content (there's a good chance that I'm just missing something).

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

• Dan Diplo 1554 posts 6205 karma points MVP 5x c-trib
    Feb 01, 2021 @ 17:27
    Dan Diplo

I don't think you need a package for your requirement, so would ignore that.

You should be able to do everything you need in a View (an Umbraco template). The question you need to ask yourself is whether you want to do it server side (c#) or client side (JavaScript).