Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Chantal 15 posts 156 karma points
    Mar 11, 2021 @ 07:27
    Chantal

How to work with Umbraco & Visual Studio

Hi there

I have been using Umbraco to create a page for a customer and it will soon be public. I downloaded the package and followed the install guide, then I uploaded it to the host server. After that, every change I made, I made on the "live" version of the website. This won't be possible after the page is public, the customer obviously doesn't want to see error messages whenever I try something out. Now my question:

What is the "standard" way to work with Umbraco? Is it to use IIS Express to run is locally and then when everything is done upload it to the webserver again? And if yes, what do I upload? All of it, just a few files? I'm new to everything, C#, Visual Studio and generally Web Applications. So if anyone answers this, please don't leave out parts of the explanation assuming I already know them, I probably don't.

Also I tried to start it with IIS Express in Visual Studio, but I get errors that packages aren't installed. I downloaded everything from the webserver and I tried to "Restore NuGet Packages" and I get "All packages are already installed and there is nothing to restore.". So I don't even know exactly how to run it with visual Studio.

• Marc Goodson 2141 posts 14344 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Mar 11, 2021 @ 20:58
    Marc Goodson

Hi Chantal

There is a page in the documentation that is hard to find, that tangentially covers some of the things you are pondering in your question, it's entitled 'source control' and talks about how to, you guessed it, 'source control' an Umbraco project but but but, I think accidentally explains which bits of an Umbraco install need to be deployed when changes are made, and which bits are environment specific...