Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• David Perry 5 posts 75 karma points
    May 10, 2021 @ 17:48
    David Perry

I am an experienced programmer, but just started using Umbraco V8 about a month ago. I am using Visual Studio 2017. I am finally done programming everything (including custom surface controller forms, etc) and am ready to publish it live to where it is supposed to hosted on WebWiz. Unfortunately, I keep getting the installation page instead of my home page.

I have went through the Paul Seal video, published the files to a share and then uploaded the file to WebWiz. I also made a backup of my SQL Server database, and restored it to my database on WebWiz. Connection Strings in web.config have also been updated. In fact, if I run my LIVE configuration against this database from Visual Studio then it works, albeit a bit more slowly.

All the examples out there on how to do this seem to be a few years old, and applicable to older versions of Umbraco. Any help would be much appreciated. I will feel as though I wasted the last month of my time if I can't publish this Umbraco website.

• Amir Khan 1282 posts 2739 karma points
    May 10, 2021 @ 17:59
    Amir Khan

Have you checked the file permissions on the host server? I've forgotten before and run into issues: https://our.umbraco.com/documentation/getting-started/setup/server-setup/permissions

The user is likely different from your local install.

May 10, 2021 @ 19:40
    David Perry

WebWiz doesn't have an option for "Full Control" in their MSP Control Panel, but they do have Read/Write and I set everything to have that (replacing child permissions). Still no luck. Still getting install screen instead of my homepage.

• Amir Khan 1282 posts 2739 karma points
    May 10, 2021 @ 19:49
    Amir Khan