Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Stephen Girdler 1 post 71 karma points
    May 14, 2021 @ 15:58
    Stephen Girdler

Vouchers: changing values by importing files ?

Hi all,

My first post and I joined this community to make it! I am hoping some good natured souls will help me out 😊

Context

I am not technical but have just joined a client’s team as a PM. We’re using Umbraco as a web front end to allow customers to access a bookings system. I am new to Umbraco. We issue customers vouchers (i.e. stored value gift cards) for cancelled bookings. My Umbraco developer has had to take some time out and I have no-one else to cover (it’s the run over by a bus scenario!).

We’re uploading lists of vouchers (.csv input file) from an external source so that they can be used on Umbraco.

Version of Umbraco is 8.10.1

Technical question

Does Umbraco allow you to change the values (e.g. balance) of an existing voucher through a file import? In other words, our csv import has a row with an existing voucher code but other fields have new values.

My dev had told me Umbraco would accept edits to values before he had to take time off, but that’s not the behaviour we are seeing. It only seems to accept entirely new vouchers.

Any thoughts warmly appreciated!

Thanks,

Steve

• Marc Goodson 2141 posts 14344 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    May 16, 2021 @ 15:58
    Marc Goodson

Hi Steve

It will depend a bit on how you have implemented the import of the CSV and where these values are stored as to whether they could be updated or edited via Umbraco. Are you using a particular shopping cart package like Vendr?

If this is all custom built by the developer, the way to start unpicking this in your crisis scenario is to find the page where the CSV is uploaded.