Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Gareth Barnes 3 posts 74 karma points
    Jun 11, 2021 @ 10:39
    Gareth Barnes

The type or namespace name 'Homepage' does not exist in the namespace 'Umbraco.Web.PublishedModels'

Hi,

I'm new to Umbraco and am facing a rather frustrating error. I downloaded the Umbraco 8.14.0 zip file and used Visual Studio 2019 to open it as a website. I was able to start the site up from Visual Studio and set up a custom installation and then followed a tutorial to create new Document Types and corresponding Templates. After a reboot when I try to start the site from Visual Studio now I face the error above with the name "Homepage" being the Document Type and Template I created. I've read a few things online about ModelsBuilder.ModelsMode and have tried setting it to PureLive, Dll, AppData and LiveAppData without any success. I can see in the AppData folder there is a file called models.generated.cs that looks as if it has the definitions for Homepage in it but it looks as if, for some reason, Umbraco is not using this file.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Gareth Barnes

• Marc Goodson 2126 posts 14218 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Jun 12, 2021 @ 20:06
    Marc Goodson

Hi Gareth

Keep in in AppData mode (or LiveAppData - just means doc type changes automatically regenerate the model classes into the app data folder - just AppData means you have to manually press the 'generate models' button in the developer section of Umbraco)

Anyway, in this mode to use the models in your Visual Studio solution and get intellisense etc, you need to 'show all files on disk' then you'll see the generated files from within visual studio, but greyed out, then right click them, include in project and rebuild...

and your ysod should go away!

regards

Marc

• shekhar sharma 22 posts 110 karma points
    Jun 14, 2021 @ 12:33
    shekhar sharma

Hello Gareth Barnes,