Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Claushingebjerg 939 posts 2574 karma points
    Jan 13, 2022 @ 17:01
    Claushingebjerg
    0

    Umbraco in parallels on M1 Mac and deployment

    So im trying to venture into the realm of V9 - and trying to get a workflow up and running, that will make my MacFrontender life bearable.

    So i got windows 11 home for Arm up and running in parallels, got vs code up and running (not gonna use VS).

    Got a project up and running, compiled and running on localhost, with a DB on a server at the hosting provider. All as i wanted, great!!!

    So now i want to "upload" the site to the hosting provider.

    I run the dotnet publish -o ../deployment-artefacts -f net5.0 command as described on the install page, and upload the files from the now created "deployment-artefacts" folder. But i get a 500 error.

    enter image description here

    So now i'm stuck and ned heeeeeeeeeeeelp :|.

  • Damien Holley 181 posts 542 karma points
    Jan 14, 2022 @ 02:53
    Damien Holley
    0

    What does the event log say? (hit the start key and just type in 'event log')

  • Claushingebjerg 939 posts 2574 karma points
    Jan 14, 2022 @ 09:14
    Claushingebjerg
    0

    Thanks, but i dont have access to the "start key" on the hosting server :|. I uploaded via ftp.

  • Simon Justesen 74 posts 193 karma points
    Jan 14, 2022 @ 10:39
    Simon Justesen
    1

    Thanks, but i dont have access to the "start key" on the hosting server :|. I uploaded via ftp.

    Error 500 is coming from the server, i.e. on your localhost machine. I don't recall the exact key name (its called "environment", I think) change the value "production" in the config to "development" or "debug" to get better error messages. The error is likely due to your MSSQL connection string being incorrect, I tend to forget to write "server=" at the beginning of the string

  • Claushingebjerg 939 posts 2574 karma points
    Jan 19, 2022 @ 09:57
    Claushingebjerg
    0

    So i got a bit further... Through other channelse i was adviced to enable loggin.

    So i added

    <aspNetCore processPath="dotnet" arguments=".\sitename.dll" stdoutLogEnabled="true" stdoutLogFile=".\logs\stdout" hostingModel="inprocess">
          <handlerSettings>
          <handlerSetting name="debugFile" value=".\logs\aspnetcore-debug.log" />
          <handlerSetting name="debugLevel" value="FILE,TRACE,WARNING,ERROR,INFO" />
          </handlerSettings>
          </aspNetCore>
    

    This adds a logs folder, where errors are logged. Great!

    In the error log i get this error

    [aspnetcorev2.dll] InvalidOperationException 'Could not find dotnet.exe at 'D:\WEB\sitename.dk\www\dotnet.exe' or using the system PATH environment variable. Check that a valid path to dotnet is on the PATH and the bitness of dotnet matches the bitness of the IIS worker process.' caught at D:\workspace\_work\1\s\src\Servers\IIS\AspNetCoreModuleV2\CommonLib\HostFxrResolutionResult.cpp:64 
    

    My guess then is i have to publish the site as "Self contained"... Trying to do so in VS code

    dotnet publish --configuration Release --self-contained -o ../selfc
    

    then gives this error.

    C:\Program Files (x86)\dotnet\sdk\5.0.404\Sdks\Microsoft.NET.Sdk\targets\Microsoft.NET.RuntimeIdentifierInference.targets(126,5): error NETSDK1031: It is not supported to build or publish a self-contained application without specifying a RuntimeIdentifier. You must either specify a RuntimeIdentifier or set SelfContained to false. [\\mac\Home\Documents\umbtest\sitename\sitename.csproj]
    

    What runtimeidentifier should i use? and how do i use it?

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies