Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Joey Kincer 51 posts 83 karma points
    May 29, 2022 @ 00:36
    Joey Kincer

Umbraco 9+ Remote Installation

Hi all,

I've been working with Umbraco since v4 (2010-ish) and up through v8.x I've always done traditional fresh remote installations (download ZIP package, upload files via FTP, run setup through URL) and just dived into the backoffice from there. That's all I've ever known.

Obviously this process has changed with v9 and higher using CLI and not a ZIP. I haven't yet attempted a v9 installation. Unfortunately all the documentation and tutorials only seem to walk through setting up and running a local website instance via IIS and stopping there, which is fine for some folks but that's not what I'm looking for.

My (Windows-based) web host only allows access via Plesk web control panel and FTP, so I can't just remote in to their server and run/publish as if I was working on a local machine. I'm looking for step-by-step instructions to run and publish a fresh Umbraco v9 installation on a remote server using nothing more than uploading files via FTP. I can ask their tech support for help on adjusting IIS settings if need be.

I have the means to create a new MS SQL database so that's not an issue, it's the rest of the setup I'm not sure what to do. Sorry for my ignorance on this matter but I only have surface-level knowledge of .NET Core and CLI (still used to using .NET Framework) and am behind the learning curve.

Do I simply create, run, and publish a local copy of Umbraco 9+ and then upload all the output files via FTP and continue using the back office from there? From the tutorials I've watched, it doesn't seem like it'd be that simple.