Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Gordon Saxby 1444 posts 1855 karma points
    Jun 09, 2022 @ 10:19
    Gordon Saxby

Trouble with Dependency Injection

I am new to Umbraco 9 and Dependency Injection, so would appreciate some tips on how to resolve this runtime error I'm getting:

InvalidOperationException: Error while validating the service descriptor 'ServiceType: MyKRingWebsite.Hangfire.Components.HangfireJobs Lifetime: Singleton ImplementationType: MyKRingWebsite.Hangfire.Components.HangfireJobs': Cannot consume scoped service 'Umbraco.Cms.Core.Security.IMemberManager' from singleton 'MyKRingWebsite.Zoho.Interfaces.IZohoApiService'. Microsoft.Extensions.DependencyInjection.ServiceProvider.ValidateService(ServiceDescriptor descriptor) Microsoft.Extensions.DependencyInjection.ServiceProvider..ctor(ICollection

"ZohoApiService" is a Singleton because it uses RestSharp and they say

Do not instantiate RestClient for each HTTP call. RestSharp creates a new instance of HttpClient internally, and you will get lots of hanging connections, and eventually exhaust the connection pool. If you use a dependency - injection container, register your API client as a singleton.

I have a number of projects making up the solution. "Hangfire" and "Zoho" do not reference each other directly. However, "Hangfire" references "Member" and "Member" references "Zoho".

I think pretty much everything is is added as "Transient" at the moment, except for one other that also uses RestSharp.

Any help, pointers, etc would be most welcome!

• Dennis 75 posts 397 karma points MVP
    Jun 10, 2022 @ 19:23
    Dennis

Hi Gordon,

I recommend you check out the IServiceScopeFactory interface. Obviously you can't consume a scoped service in a singleton, but you can create a new scope inside a method in your singleton.

As a short example:

public class MySingleton
    {