Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Chris King 6 posts 87 karma points
    Jul 27, 2022 @ 18:53
    Chris King

Access Data from External Database

Hello and thank you for looking. I am new to Umbraco and have really enjoyed it.

Here is the scenario.

I need to search for a case based on a name. From there a list of results will show. Clicking on a result will list the information for the case. All this info would come from the external Database.

Any direction on how to achieve this is much appreciated.

Chris

• Marc Goodson 2141 posts 14344 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Aug 14, 2022 @ 15:19
    Marc Goodson

Hi Chris

There are a couple of ways to achieve the kind of scenario you are talking about within Umbraco, and it will depend a little on the nuances of the case and the information to be displayed as what the best route it is for you to go.

But I think one way might be to create a Cases DocumentType in Umbraco, with a Cases Template

This would be the page you list your search results on.

In Umbraco there is a technique called RouteHijacking that is based on a convention of a Custom MVC Controller matching the name of a DocumentType.

(https://our.umbraco.com/documentation/reference/routing/custom-controllers/)

So if you create a controller called CasesController that inherits from RenderController

You will be able to create an Index action that intercepts all requests into the /cases Url, and from here you could read any search criteria from the querystring, take those criteria, query your database, find matching cases, and create a Custom ViewModel that inherits from Umbraco's default ContentModel, but with a new property 'CaseSearchResults' being an IEnumerable fo your matching database Case entities.

Then your Umbraco Template/View can be updated to use your Custom ViewModel