Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Joshua Crittenden 14 posts 124 karma points
    Jul 29, 2022 @ 19:23
    Joshua Crittenden
    0

    Rich Text Editor strips Font Awesome icon i tags and adding ValidElements is erased on build.

    The rich text editor strips out the i tags used for font awesome icons. I have tried adding/replacing the em/i tag in ValidElements within the appsettings-schema.json, but that line ValidElements line just reverts back to default when I rebuild the solution?

  • Huw Reddick 1932 posts 6722 karma points MVP 2x c-trib
    Jul 29, 2022 @ 19:41
    Huw Reddick
    0

    You need to override it in your appsettings.json simply copy it into your settings file and make the change there. The schema file is not for editing

  • Huw Reddick 1932 posts 6722 karma points MVP 2x c-trib
    Jul 30, 2022 @ 10:26
    Huw Reddick
    0

    You need to add to your appsettings.json like below

      "Umbraco": {
        "CMS": {
          "RichTextEditor": {
            "ValidElements": "+a[id|style|rel|data-id|data-udi|rev|charset|hreflang|dir|lang|tabindex|accesskey|type|name|href|target|title|class|onfocus|onblur|onclick|ondblclick|onmousedown|onmouseup|onmouseover|onmousemove|onmouseout|onkeypress|onkeydown|onkeyup],i[class|style],-strong/-b[class|style],-em[class|style],-strike[class|style],-u[class|style],#p[id|style|dir|class|align],-ol[class|reversed|start|style|type],-ul[class|style],-li[class|style],br[class],img[id|dir|lang|longdesc|usemap|style|class|src|onmouseover|onmouseout|border|alt=|title|hspace|vspace|width|height|align|umbracoorgwidth|umbracoorgheight|onresize|onresizestart|onresizeend|rel|data-id],-sub[style|class],-sup[style|class],-blockquote[dir|style|class],-table[border=0|cellspacing|cellpadding|width|height|class|align|summary|style|dir|id|lang|bgcolor|background|bordercolor],-tr[id|lang|dir|class|rowspan|width|height|align|valign|style|bgcolor|background|bordercolor],tbody[id|class],thead[id|class],tfoot[id|class],#td[id|lang|dir|class|colspan|rowspan|width|height|align|valign|style|bgcolor|background|bordercolor|scope],-th[id|lang|dir|class|colspan|rowspan|width|height|align|valign|style|scope],caption[id|lang|dir|class|style],-div[id|dir|class|align|style],-span[class|align|style],-pre[class|align|style],address[class|align|style],-h1[id|dir|class|align|style],-h2[id|dir|class|align|style],-h3[id|dir|class|align|style],-h4[id|dir|class|align|style],-h5[id|dir|class|align|style],-h6[id|style|dir|class|align|style],hr[class|style],small[class|style],dd[id|class|title|style|dir|lang],dl[id|class|title|style|dir|lang],dt[id|class|title|style|dir|lang],object[class|id|width|height|codebase|*],param[name|value|_value|class],embed[type|width|height|src|class|*],map[name|class],area[shape|coords|href|alt|target|class],bdo[class],button[class],iframe[*],figure,figcaption",
            "CustomConfig": {
              "style_formats": "[{\"title\":\"Headers\",\"items\":[{\"title\":\"Heading h1\",\"block\":\"h1\"},{\"title\":\"Heading h2\",\"block\":\"h2\"},{\"title\":\"Heading h3\",\"block\":\"h3\"},{\"title\":\"Heading h4\",\"block\":\"h4\"},{\"title\":\"Heading h5\",\"block\":\"h5\"},{\"title\":\"Heading h6\",\"block\":\"h6\"}]}]"
            }
          }
        }
      }
    
  • Joshua Crittenden 14 posts 124 karma points
    Aug 08, 2022 @ 13:12
    Joshua Crittenden
    0

    That allowed me to put the "i" tag in the RTE, but it added a red highlight period "." in the middle. Which appears to translate to a non-breaking space " " on the front-end. Which is not what I want. Even though I have the hash "#" in the front of "i"

  • Huw Reddick 1932 posts 6722 karma points MVP 2x c-trib
    Aug 08, 2022 @ 15:15
    Huw Reddick
    0

    not certain what you mean, what # in front of the i?

    what exactly have you added to the rte code window?

  • Joshua Crittenden 14 posts 124 karma points
    Aug 08, 2022 @ 15:50
    Joshua Crittenden
    0

    I've added this to the appSettings

    -em[class|style],#i[class|style]

    I saw that the "#" allows the i tag to be empty. But it is still adding a red period:

    enter image description here

    enter image description here

  • Huw Reddick 1932 posts 6722 karma points MVP 2x c-trib
    Aug 08, 2022 @ 16:23
    Huw Reddick
    0

    I've never had to add the # and it quite happily accepts empty i tags <p>text <i class="fa-solid fa-test"></i></p>

    How are you adding the i tag? by hand or using a format link or something?

  • Huw Reddick 1932 posts 6722 karma points MVP 2x c-trib
    Aug 08, 2022 @ 16:27
    Huw Reddick
    100

    I just did a quick test, the nbsp is added because of the #, I just use +i[class|style]

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies