Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Ross Ekberg 124 posts 364 karma points
    Dec 22, 2022 @ 16:03
    Ross Ekberg

Custom Section Tree in Backoffice

I am new to MVC. I am trying to create a tree in a custom section. I have created a new custom section in the backoffice and given myself permission to it, so it is visible. I tried following some provided tutorials on the subject, but it starts with "create a tree controller in C#". I loosely understand the concept of a controller, but I don't know where to save the controller or how to structure it. It seems this is a relatively simple thing to do as it is a part of the Umbraco docs. But the instructions are too vague. Can anyone help me out?

• Huw Reddick 1745 posts 6109 karma points MVP c-trib
    Dec 22, 2022 @ 16:10
    Huw Reddick

Hi Ross,

In answer because the web project is a .net library you can create it anyware in the project, but I would suggest creating a subfolder called controllers and create it in there.

You will need to use visual studio of some description

Dec 22, 2022 @ 16:15
    Ross Ekberg

Ok, so I can just save it in the same folder as the code for the section itself. //App_Plugins/NewSection/. You are saying that's just fine?

So I save it there. Can you give me an example of the controller code? In the tutorial (https://our.umbraco.com/documentation/extending/section-trees/trees/) it provides the following code to create a tree in a custom section:

[Tree(SectionAlias = "settings", TreeAlias = "favouriteThingsAlias", TreeTitle = "Favourite Things Name", TreeGroup = "favouritesGroup", SortOrder = 5)]
    public class FavouriteThingsTreeController : TreeController
    { }

How would I implement this? The tutorial doesn't explain.

Dec 22, 2022 @ 16:27
    Huw Reddick