Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• _R 13 posts 143 karma points
    Jun 16, 2023 @ 15:01
    _R

Problems while rendering asynchronous form as plugin

As a developer I was updating an old Umbraco project to Umbraco 10. Since we are using USkinned block components for our new custom editors, I am building some components as App-Plugin, to keep supporting the older grit editors.

Currently I am stuck at rendering a Form in my editor.cshtml. Note that this is a plugin which does not access @Umbraco.

I tried several option and for now this one looks like the most obvious solution:

@await Component.InvokeAsync("RenderFormScripts", new { FormGuid = formGuid, FormTheme = string.Empty});

However, when awaiting this Invocation, I get an error message from the UDI parser: System.FormatException: String "17428" is not a valid udi.

I must asynchronically call the invocation, otherwise it shows the Task signature.

For now it looks like it tries to parse an nodeid which has nothing to do with the Form. The Form itself really exists with the proper GUID.

Does anybody know, where this id came from and how I can accomplish my goal?

• Simon Napper 84 posts 254 karma points
    Jun 20, 2023 @ 20:11
    Simon Napper

So just to eliminate options, you're calling the RenderFormScripts component with the parameter FormGuid, is that parameter a GUID/Udi?

If so, what is the value of formGuid? Guessing it's 17428?

Jun 21, 2023 @ 07:26
    _R

Thanks for the reply! Indeed I was calling the RenderFormScript component with a valid FormGuid which is a valid GUID and not the nodeId. Thats the weird thing. I also tried it with the existing component: RenderFormScript

@await Component.InvokeAsync("RenderFormScripts", new { FormGuid = formGuid, FormTheme = string.Empty});