Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jay M 1 post 71 karma points
    Jul 03, 2023 @ 14:26
    Jay M

Clone published website to visual studio without source code

Hello everyone, I'm a total Umbraco newbie and this huge project has just been dropped on me without me knowing a lot about the platform. For the past few months, I've been trying to get the hang of it but now I'm kind of stuck and could use some help.

A third-party company did the whole website on Umbraco 7 a few years ago and since then they've lost the source code and the people that made the original project are now gone too.

I'm having some API problems and numerous other problems that require me accessing the code through Visual Studio, but as I don't have the source code I've only been able to tweak the website through the browser (mywebsite.com/umbraco).

If someone could help me out with a step-by-step, I want to basically clone this website so I have the necessary code to work with, and while I'm at it I want to upgrade it from Umbraco 7 to the latest. I know our database is on SQL server so I see no problems there. Is there a plug-in or something that helps me migrate all my content, media, Document Types, Templates, PV, Stylesheets, Scripts, etc..? What about controllers and models? How can I replicate them?

• Corné Hoskam 80 posts 587 karma points MVP 2x c-trib
    Jul 03, 2023 @ 16:44
    Corné Hoskam

Hi Jay,

I fear you are in a bit of a pickle there. Without the source-code, you can only do so much by ways of cloning the project and working on it. The fact that you have access to the database helps a lot when talking about content migrations and umbraco back-office changes, but it is near impossible to work on any of the code without actually having the source-code.