Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Yaco Zaragoza 88 posts 363 karma points
    Jul 20, 2023 @ 20:28
    Yaco Zaragoza
    0

    I published my site and now it can't find the database

    Can anyone tell me what file I need to check for resetting the database connection, It seems like I published my site and not I am getting the set up screen

  • Bo Jacobsen 610 posts 2409 karma points
    Jul 21, 2023 @ 07:29
    Bo Jacobsen
    0

    Hi Yaco.

    Do you have a file called appsettings.json or appsettings.Production.json?

    Inside there should be a field to enter your connectionstring like...

    "ConnectionStrings": {
        "umbracoDbDSN": ""
      }
    
  • Yaco Zaragoza 88 posts 363 karma points
    Jul 21, 2023 @ 13:20
    Yaco Zaragoza
    0

    How do I set what environment it will use?

    in my appsettings.json I have

    "CMS": { "Runtime": { "Mode": "Development" },

    and I have a appsettings.Development.json file with the following connection string

      "ConnectionStrings": {
        "umbracoDbDSN": "server=SERVERNAMEHERE;database=DATABASENAMEHERE;user id=USERNAME;password='PASSWORD'",
        "umbracoDbDSN_ProviderName": "Microsoft.Data.SqlClient"
      }
    
  • Bo Jacobsen 610 posts 2409 karma points
    Jul 24, 2023 @ 08:34
    Bo Jacobsen
    0

    There is an environment variable named ASPNETCORE_ENVIRONMENT that you can change. There is a link here where you can read different suggestions. https://stackoverflow.com/questions/41546943/how-to-set-aspnetcore-environment-to-be-considered-for-publishing-an-asp-net-cor

    I use Web.config with transformation on publish.

    Web.config

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
    <configuration>
        <system.webServer>
            <aspNetCore processPath="dotnet" arguments=".\MyProject.Web.dll" hostingModel="InProcess" stdoutLogEnabled="true" stdoutLogFile=".\logs\stdout">
                <environmentVariables>
                    <environmentVariable name="ASPNETCORE_ENVIRONMENT" value="Development" />
                </environmentVariables>
            </aspNetCore>
        </system.webServer>
    </configuration>
    

    Web.Release.config

    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <configuration xmlns:xdt="http://schemas.microsoft.com/XML-Document-Transform">
        <system.webServer>
            <aspNetCore>
                <environmentVariables xdt:Transform="InsertIfMissing">
                    <environmentVariable name="ASPNETCORE_ENVIRONMENT" value="Production" xdt:Transform="SetAttributes" xdt:Locator="Match(name)" />
                </environmentVariables>
            </aspNetCore>
        </system.webServer>
    </configuration>
    

    and then it would use the appsettings.Production.json.

  • Yaco Zaragoza 88 posts 363 karma points
    Aug 02, 2023 @ 18:16
    Yaco Zaragoza
    0

    I check the appsettings.json and appsettings.{Enviroment}.json and the database information seems to be correct. but when I go to the domain I am seeing

    enter image description here

    can anyone help me?

  • Bo Jacobsen 610 posts 2409 karma points
    Aug 03, 2023 @ 07:29
    Bo Jacobsen
    0

    Do you use the same database when you deploy?

    If not, is the database you then use maybe empty?

  • Yaco Zaragoza 88 posts 363 karma points
    Aug 03, 2023 @ 14:11
    Yaco Zaragoza
    0

    I cloned the database and its the same on both servers (Dev and Live)

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies