Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Robert 2 posts 71 karma points
    1 week ago
    Robert

Displaying through a Block Grid

I'm new to Umbraco, so excuse me if I overlook something simple or altogether impossible.

I want to create a "library" of reusable content that I can edit once and use in multiple pages whenever I choose.

I am also trying to use the Block Grid for differing layouts on the page (full, two columns, etc.). I have set these up fine, and with a simple Element Type with an editor for a Rich Text Editor Data Type I can create any areas on the grid and everything displays fine. But I want to reuse some content. This is where i am having trouble.

For the Block Grid I created a Data Type of Content Block Grid and added the blocks I want to display, including what I describe below. For the top-level Document Type "Test" I have added the Content Block Grid Data Type in the property editor (contentBlockGridTest). In my document template, ~/Templates/Test.cshtml, I have @await Html.GetBlockGridHtmlAsync(Model, "contentBlockGridTest").

I have tried to render items in the following manner:

• A plain Element Type (Quote - see below for description). This only allows picking one item, but still cannot display the item.
    • Block List. Cannot display the list of items.
    • An RTE that allows a specific block (Quote Block - see below for description). I tried the RTE with blocks thinking I could achieve the same thing as a Block List when I was looking for alternative ways to do this. But I still cannot display the chosen items.

For the plain Element Type I created the following:

• Document Type: Quote Block (with a plain RTE editor to hold the Quote Body).
    • Document Type: Quote Library with child nodes Quote Library and Quote Block. I also created Content for Quote Library and created a few dummy Quote Block entries.