Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Sebastian 8 posts 88 karma points
    Jun 06, 2024 @ 08:14
    Sebastian

Unable to open BackOffice after new install

This is my first try with Umbraco. I have installed the latest version on my local Windows machine according to the docs.

When I start with dotnet run, I see a welcome page in the browser (on both ports shown in the command line). However, when I click on the Open Umbraco button, I get the following error message:

error:invalid_request
    error_description:The specified 'redirect_uri' is not valid for this client application.
    error_uri:https://documentation.openiddict.com/errors/ID2043

The URL looks like this:

https://localhost:44334/umbraco/management/api/v1/security/back-office/authorize?redirect_uri=https%3A%2F%2Flocalhost%3A44334%2Fumbraco%2Foauth_complete&client_id=umbraco-back-office&response_type=code&state=Xf8P0V5V9Y&scope=offline_access&prompt=consent&access_type=offline&code_challenge=snXL3fsdYvHjla49dZlqV1p7H4uU3arHMK3lZj_pOWU&code_challenge_method=S256

I suspect that this has to do with encrypting transport between the browser and Kestrell, but I am not sure.

I have tried to switch this behavoir off by setting the runtime mode to developer in appsettings.json (docs), but that does not help.

What causes this error and how can I fix it on my local Windows machine?

• Sebastiaan Janssen 5057 posts 15514 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jun 06, 2024 @ 08:15
    Sebastiaan Janssen

I've seen this before and I can't put my finger on it yet, but a restart of the server seems to help.

Jun 06, 2024 @ 08:26
    Sebastian

Note: I edited this response a couple of times (still learning)

I just tried restarting a couple of times, but it didn't help. I still get the same error message.

On the other port, I get another error message:

error:invalid_request