Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• JessicaGUA 11 posts 122 karma points
    Jul 10, 2024 @ 10:30
    JessicaGUA

Umbraco 14 : Rich Text Editor displaying unicode characters

Update : changing from IContent to IPublishedContent seems to solve this issue. I don't really get the difference and when to use one or another...

Hi everyone,

First of all, this is my first time ever posting on a forum because I'm new to development (started in January). Please excuse my lack of experience and if my request may seems dumb. Plus, excuse my grammar/vocabulary errors, I'm French...

So, I have a problem when I try to display the content of my Rich text Editor. It renders unicodes and HTML tags. I solved the HTML tags' problem by using a Regex. But I don't know what to use for unicodes.

For example :

• Text editor contains : Retour en photo du Workshop consacré aux retours d’expériences
    • What is rendered : {"markup":"\u003Cp\u003ERetour en photo du Workshop consacr\u00E9 aux retours d\u2019exp\u00E9riences

Some context elements; I identify my Document with:

IContent latestNews = _contentService.GetPagedOfType(
            newsItemTypeId,
            out total,
            null
        ).OrderByDescending(x => x.GetValue("publishedDate"))
        .FirstOrDefault();

I display it with:

string latestNewsContent = Regex.Replace(latestNews.GetValue("content").ToString(), @"<[^>]*>", String.Empty);
    @latestNewsContent

PLEASE : comment with details and a maximum of explanations because, I repeat, I am a newbie... Thank you in advance and feel free to reach me for further informations.

• Yakov Lebski 584 posts 2313 karma points
    Jul 10, 2024 @ 13:40
    Yakov Lebski

I think it encoder issues

in Startup.cs under ConfigureServices or before services.AddUmbraco or in Composer add

var settings = new TextEncoderSettings(UnicodeRanges.All);