Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Jonathan L Folland 31 posts 173 karma points
    Aug 09, 2024 @ 15:02
    Jonathan L Folland
    0

    Umbraco Cloud - Manually trigger build and deploy without git check in.

    I get errors fairly often in Umbraco cloud on git pushes related to the build and deploy process. They are not related to the push itself. In order to get the deploy to occur, I am pushing inconsequential commits (like adding a space to a code file); until I get the build and deploy to complete. There has to be a better way, but I cannot find it.

    Is there a way from the cloud console to just say "Run Build with Current Code" and "Run Deploy with Most recent Build"?

    Example of a common failure:

    git -c diff.mnemonicprefix=false -c core.quotepath=false --no-optional-locks push -v origin master:master warning: auto-detection of host provider took too long (>2000ms) warning: see https://aka.ms/gcm/autodetect for more information. warning: auto-detection of host provider took too long (>2000ms) warning: see https://aka.ms/gcm/autodetect for more information. POST git-receive-pack (830 bytes) remote: Updating branch 'master'.
    remote: Updating submodules. remote: Preparing deployment for commit id '6048722b09'. remote: Running custom deployment command... remote: Running deployment command...
    remote: Ensuring git configuration remote: Handling ASP.NET Core Web Application deployment remote: CsProjFile location C:\home\site\repository\src\SIAM.Site\SIAM.Site.csproj remote: Target Major and Minor dotnet sdk version found via the csproj file '8.0' remote: Working Sdk version '8.0.205' remote: Wrote global.json in the repository for version '8.0.205'
    remote: Determining projects to restore... remote: ...................... send-pack: unexpected disconnect while reading sideband packet error: error in sideband demultiplexer

    Pushing to https://scm.umbraco.io/useast01/my-repo.git To https://scm.umbraco.io/useast01/my-repo.git afe058f6..6048722b master -> master updating local tracking ref 'refs/remotes/origin/master'

    Completed with errors, see above.

  • Søren Kottal 711 posts 4549 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Aug 16, 2024 @ 08:20
    Søren Kottal
    101

    Hi Jonathan

    You can send a PUT request to https://your-project-alias.scm.useast01.umbraco.io/api/deployments (you need to add basic auth headers with your Umbraco ID credentials). This will trigger the deployment from the current status in git.

  • Jonathan L Folland 31 posts 173 karma points
    24 days ago
    Jonathan L Folland
    0

    I was hoping for something in the umbraco cloud user interface, but I do not think it exists. Marking this as answer as I think this is likely the best answer.

    The associated documentation can be found here: https://docs.umbraco.com/umbraco-cloud/set-up/project-settings/umbraco-cicd/umbracocloudapi

    Thank you.

  • Jamie Attwood 206 posts 500 karma points c-trib
    6 days ago
    Jamie Attwood
    0

    I have had this issue ongoing for months and it is driving me insane. I am working with support again today on this. I too am on useast01. I often need to do up to 4 "touch" pushes from local to dev just to get the package to deploy to remote dev. I am convinced it has to do with an overburdened API - maybe too many automated CI/CD processes, who knows.

    It is definitely not a networking issue between local and cloud because the changes appear in the cloud back office, it's just that the deployment fails from there.

    I agree that deploy needs a way to deal with this situation via the deploy backoffice UI with some buttons similar to the other deploy functions such as "Clear Signatures" etc.

    @Soren, can you share a sample PUT request with the format of the auth headers? That would be great!

    Thanks for posting this to confirm that it's not just me...

  • David Aichinger 2 posts 72 karma points
    6 hours ago
    David Aichinger
    0

    We have also been struggling with this error for several months.

    We are on euwest01.

    Sometimes 3 days go by without any problems, but then suddenly this error occurs and we can't deploy for hours. That's nerve-wracking.

    In my opinion, triggering the deployment manually would only be a temporary woraround.

    I would be more interested to know where the actual "error in sideband demultiplexer" issue comes from and how to fix it.

    I'm glad to hear, that we're apparently not the only ones with this problem...

    Another observation we were able to make - for us the error almost always occurs on Development, very rarely on Staging, and never on Live.

    It seems to us that the error is a result of frequent deployments, which would indicate an overburdened API, like @Jamie mentioned.

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft