Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• SandyK-W 21 posts 61 karma points
    Aug 29, 2024 @ 10:04
    SandyK-W

Umbraco v13 content node as a class for use in all views and partials?

Hi,

enter image description here

We have a Global > Settings content tree/ node that holds a variety of header, footer, content settings that we need to be able to call in a variety of places, consistently and easily. I've tried to work this out but I can only find info on how to do this in older .NET versions of Umbraco.

Any help is much appreciated! Also apologies if this has a readily available solution!

I'm still quite new to umbraco and .NET

• Joppe Ruessink 18 posts 168 karma points
    Aug 29, 2024 @ 14:34
    Joppe Ruessink

Hi Sandy,

If I understand correctly you would like to use the content on the "Settings" page doctype in different views or partials.

This is a scenario that occurs with many Umbraco websites and is easily solved by using the Umbraco Context and the generated model for the "Settings" doctype.

By using so-called .NET extensions this is made even easier and you could apply this to every view or partial.

It is possible to inject the so-called IUmbracoContextAccessor into each view. This is done by means of the following piece of code at the top of the view.

@inject IUmbracoContextAccessor_umbracoContextAccessor;

It is now possible to build an extension on the IUmbracoContextAccessor. The name of this extension is TryGetCurrentSettings() and returns the generated model of the "Settings" doctype which is probably called: Settings.cs. The implementation of this extension looks like this:

public static class UmbracoContextAccessorExtensions
    {
        public static Settings? TryGetCurrentSettings(this IUmbracoContextAccessor umbracoContextAccessor)
        {
            using (var contextReference = umbracoContextAccessor.GetRequiredUmbracoContext())