Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Santhosh Sivan 3 posts 73 karma points
    25 days ago
    Santhosh Sivan

How to setup Multi-Organization Setup in Umbraco 12.1.2

HI Everyone,

I am new to the umbraco, I have an existing site in Umbraco (version 12.1.2), and we need to implement a new structure for organizations. The goal is to create different organizations (e.g., Organization A, Organization B) under which the existing site content (collections, pages, layouts) will reside.

Here’s what we’re aiming for:

1. When I create Organization A, all existing site content should be accessible under that organization.
    2. Similarly, if I create Organization B, the same should happen.

Additionally, in both the CMS admin and the API, we want to access the content like this:

• localhost/organization_name/umbraco
    • localhost/organization_name/api

Any guidance on how to achieve this setup would be greatly appreciated!

• Ayo Adesina 445 posts 1059 karma points
    25 days ago
    Ayo Adesina

You can create two top-level nodes in the Umbraco back office:

One node as the root for Organization A

Another node as the root for Organization B

Using Umbraco's user permissions feature, you can restrict access to these top-level nodes based on user roles. For example, some users can be granted access to Organization A's nodes, while being restricted from accessing Organization B's nodes, and vice versa.

Creating API Endpoints

You can create API endpoints in your Umbraco application by adding a controller that inherits from UmbracoApiController. However, be aware that the UmbracoApiController will be deprecated and removed in Umbraco version 15.

When you create such a controller, you'll have a URL like:

http://website.local/umbraco/api/ContentAPI/GetMenu

This will work if you have a controller named ContentAPIController with a method called GetMenu.