Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Lewis Knight 6 posts 86 karma points
    Apr 21, 2016 @ 16:23
    Lewis Knight

Finding where SASS & CSS files are

Hello.

I'd like to introduce myself, I'm Lew. I'm very new to Umbraco - passed level 1 on 19/03/16 - or 03/19/16 for you Americans, and i've never used it prior to this.

I've head that you're a friendly bunch, so hopefully someone will be able to help.

The company I work for has commissioned a 3rd party to develop its new site. It's coming close to the handover date and i'm just working my way around a local install to make sure i'm off to a running start when we get the files.

The version is: 7.4.1

The styles are done with SASS within a SASS folder in root. With my experience from using SASS it all gets compiled into a single CSS file that the website links to - eg with a program such as Koala. However, when inspecting elements on the page, it links to the '_header.sass' file.

My initial thought was that; 'great, umbraco reads SASS! This is pretty easy then...' - turns out that didn't work. So I changed the SASS files to reflect the changes I wanted to do and re-compiled. This again didn't work. Confused I went back to the inspect too and saw that the path to the file was:

http://site.local/source/base/_header.scss

There isn't a source folder within the site files.

Does anyone know How I can go through and edit the SASS files within source?

Thank you,

Lew.

• Douglas Robar 3570 posts 4711 karma points MVP ∞ admin c-trib
    Apr 21, 2016 @ 21:18
    Douglas Robar

Hi, Lewis!

You're right, Umbraco doesn't "do sass" out of the box. Most likely one of the popular packages from the community that adds sass support was used. But which one?