Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• raza 15 posts 115 karma points
    May 17, 2016 @ 00:35
    raza

Umbraco 7 Creating Reusable Data (not layout of such)

I'm new to Umbraco (using latest version, which at this time is 7.4.3) and really don't have any experience with CMSs at all, for that matter. I'm needing to give content editors a way to create many "Reports" which consist of meta data about each (Date, Title, associated downloads) and then "Sections" of the "Report", which is basically a table of contents with associated content.

• Reports

• Report1

• Title
        • Date
        • IsArchived

• Sections

• Section1
            • Title
            • Content .........

........... and so on........

Each "Report" could take quite a bit of time to set up and each one's data will be reused on various web pages and in different display formats (such as list of reports vs. full report detail).

Using Umbraco, what is the best approach for this? I'd like the content editors to be able to define the report data once and then pick that data to be displayed on various pages and in different ways.

I've seen posts about using Archetype to create reusable "pickable widgets" (http://24days.in/umbraco/2015/umbraco-zeitgeist/#picked-widgets), but that seems kind of hacky and unintuitive for the editor users. Then I've seen mention of creating whole new custom sections of the BackOffice, which seems like overkill and possibly a hell of a lot of work and ramp up time to learn how to do so.

Ideas?? TIA!

May 18, 2016 @ 15:50
    raza

Anybody?? :)

• Nicholas Westby 2054 posts 7103 karma points c-trib
    May 18, 2016 @ 16:26
    Nicholas Westby

Not sure I'd call pickable widgets hacky, but then I'm biased (as the author of that article) :-)