Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Nicole Polet 50 posts 202 karma points
    Jul 05, 2016 @ 23:12
    Nicole Polet

Only deploying certain changes

Hello,

I have an Umbraco 7 site, and I am using Git with Sourcetree as version control for it.

I am new to both Umbraco and Git, so this might be a bit of a noob question.

We have recently launched our Umbraco site and are now looking to add some new features (specifically a global site search in the header). This may take me a while to develop, but in the meantime we might want to make some small unrelated changes to some of the template files.

My question is how can I deploy small, unrelated changes to the site without deploying the changes I am making for the search functionality? I feel like this is something that can be done by creating a new branch in Git for the site search development, but I'm not sure how to do this from within Umbraco.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    Jul 06, 2016 @ 05:27
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Nicole

This primarily has to do with your branching strategy I'd say since it's a matter of figuring out when you work on a feature or when you're dealing with hotfixes.

Depending on your setup it might make sense to have a look at this strategy http://nvie.com/posts/a-successful-git-branching-model/ - Basically here the "Master" branch is the one that contains the code, which should be deployed and in the development branch you have the codebase that you create features from and merge features into when they're done and then you merge the development branch into the master branch.

Source tree has a button called "Git flow", which supports the flow described in the former mentioned post I believe - You can read more about it here https://blog.sourcetreeapp.com/2012/08/01/smart-branching-with-sourcetree-and-git-flow/