Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Matt 8 posts 78 karma points
    Aug 04, 2016 @ 06:09
    Matt

Merging/querying external data to display with Umbraco content

I'm new to Umbraco. I need to query for and get some external data (from a database) and have it available alongside the values coming from the Umbraco properties.

For example, I have a Product document type. A product has data setup within Umbraco, but I need to query an external data source which is updated daily with some other values and also have it available along with the data coming from Umbraco. I can associate them based on the Product ID, which is available as a property on the Product from Umbraco (@CurrentPage.productId = "234655").

How would I go about doing this? Also, is it best to have the other data in the same database as Umbraco or in a separate database?

• Steve Morgan 1346 posts 4453 karma points c-trib
    Aug 04, 2016 @ 08:06
    Steve Morgan

There are a few different ways of doing this - if you're mixing a lot of content from an external system (say a product DB) with Umbraco content then I'd suggest a Custom Controller.

https://our.umbraco.org/documentation/reference/routing/custom-controllers

In your controller call / query an external data source (via a "helper" class, be it an external DB, API or just some custom tables stored to the Umbraco DB) and return a model with your Umbraco content and product data mixed in.

Hope that helps

Steve

• Ismail Mayat 4511 posts 10091 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Aug 04, 2016 @ 08:28
    Ismail Mayat

Matt,