Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Toppers 31 posts 155 karma points
    Aug 04, 2016 @ 09:42
    Toppers

I'm a seasoned nuts & bolt developer and I've worked with DNN and MojoPortal but I'm new to Umbraco; I've just installed the latest version but struggled to find any simple boiler templates or even starter kits I could get started with which work with the latest version! I've looked at USkinned.com for a theme but there's less than a dozen to choose from!

I've also recently installed a WP site for a colleague and was amazed how I could theme in seconds and how easily I could bolt on a zillion plugins which worked straight away!

Seriously disappointed by the peripheral support...

• Dennis Aaen 4499 posts 18254 karma points admin hq c-trib
    Aug 04, 2016 @ 09:57
    Dennis Aaen

Hi Toppers,

Back when you installed Umbraco CMS you could choose between 3 starter kits, another one which you can use for the latest Umbraco version is the Local Gov starter kit

https://our.umbraco.org/projects/starter-kits/localgov-starter-kit/

Then you should see Umbraco CMS as a framework where you have full control over your HTML and CSS, so you can implement any designs in Umbraco that you want.

If you are after HTML templates that you can use the html5up is a good place to visit. https://html5up.net

If you want to get some inspiration for creating your own webdesign, then you could have a look at http://www.templatemonster.com

Since you are new to Umbraco CMS, I would also recommend you to have a look at Umbraco TV https://umbraco.tv/videos/umbraco-v7/ here you will find videos that shows the basic concepts of Umbraco CMS, some of the videos are free to watch and others requires that you are subscribing to the service.