Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Glen 36 posts 168 karma points
    Oct 11, 2016 @ 07:19
    Glen

What is the best approach to deploy umbraco to live production?

Hi,

I'm new to umbraco and never had a chance to deploy a website into live which is umbraco and using .net as a scripting language and my point is what is the best way to deploy my umbraco local website into live? I'm using VS2012 as for development purposes, I have experience deploying a website using filezilla because my web host provides FTP, this is my first time to deploy a website into live using umbraco and what is the best practices for this approach?

Any suggestion would be appreciated.

• Tommy Enger 72 posts 277 karma points c-trib
    Oct 11, 2016 @ 08:10
    Tommy Enger

If your production server supports WebDeploy, I would recommend that. I use web deployment packages as described here

• Micha Somers 134 posts 597 karma points
    Oct 11, 2016 @ 08:25
    Micha Somers

There are several things to keep in mind when deploying to a live production environment. Each requiring a different approach. For example, if it's likely that you are regularly going to make updates locally to content and code, you should think about how you are going to sync data (local/production). There are solutions available for that.

But for a simple start ... the initial setup is done more or less the same as for other ASP.NET web applications:

1. Make sure the requirements of your solution and database match with what your hosting environment and database is capable of (platform, security/accessibility requirements, database requirements, etc.).

2. For a simple first deployment you can use Visual Studio to Publish your project. If you first publish to your local filesystem, Filezilla can be used to ftp the published files to your webserver.