Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• hrcodenstuff 6 posts 128 karma points
    Oct 17, 2016 @ 17:19
    hrcodenstuff

Add CSS Class attribute to Standard Image Editor

I am new to Umbraco, and just discovered that the Image editor (the one that is included in selectable editors for content rows) does not provide a way to enter a CSS class. This is surprising, considering that it is pretty standard these days to use Bootstrap classes to style images (img-responsive, for example). Example screen shots are below.

While I understand that I can set a class within the Umbraco UI on the containing column div, this is not ideal. I also understand that I could use the Rich Text Editor, but this seems to be overkill for a column that is intended to contain images only.

What I would like to do is modify the existing editor to allow users to enter CSS classes, but I cannot find it.

Has anyone made this modification to your own implementation of Umbraco, and if so, could you guide me to how I could do this?

EXAMPLE:

Select the column:

enter image description here

Select the Image editor:

Click to insert image:

Note that the only fields available are UrL and Alternate Text. Would like to modify so that user can add a CSS class (or classes) here.

• Sven Geusens 169 posts 881 karma points c-trib
    Oct 18, 2016 @ 12:25
    Sven Geusens

Hey and welcome to Umbraco

After reading trough your post and seeing all the images, it is clear you are using the Grid.

As far as I can see you have figured out how to setup the Grids basic configuration (rows/columns) and the question is how can I extend grid editors.

There are a few ways to do this but you have to understand the following: a grid editor has a 2 important parts: (1) The underlying data and the way it is retrieved (angular controllers and whatnot) (2) the renderer.