Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Matt Smith 79 posts 110 karma points
    Nov 15, 2016 @ 10:05
    Matt Smith
    0

    Nested lists are not accessible

    Hi, when nesting lists using the indent button the generated code is:

        <ul>
    <li>one </li>
    <li>two</li>
    <ul>
    <li>first </li>
    <li>second</li>
    </ul>
    <li>three</li>
    </ul>
    

    However the nested list should be within the line item it follows, rather than following as a separate list.

    Is there a way to get the editor to nest lists accessibly? Thanks, Matt

  • Alex Skrypnyk 6132 posts 23951 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Nov 15, 2016 @ 14:36
    Alex Skrypnyk
    0

    Hi Matt,

    What are you trying to do?

    Is it code from RTE ?

    Thanks,

    Alex

  • Matt Smith 79 posts 110 karma points
    Nov 28, 2016 @ 09:42
    Matt Smith
    0

    Hi Alex, Yes that is code generated by the RTE.

    I'm trying to generate accessible code for a nested list in umbraco without having to manually edit the html. It should be:

    <ul>
    <li>one</li>
    <li>two
    <ul>
    <li>new list 1</li>
    <li>new list 2</li>
    </ul>
    </li>
    <li>three></li>
    </ul>
    

    but the code in the first comment shows what is generated. This is not accessible as a <ul>cannot follow a <ul>tag.

    does that make sense? Thanks, Matt

  • Alex Skrypnyk 6132 posts 23951 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Nov 28, 2016 @ 10:38
    Alex Skrypnyk
    0

    Hi Matt,

    You are right of course.

    This is functionality of RTE.

  • Matt Smith 79 posts 110 karma points
    Nov 28, 2016 @ 11:16
    Matt Smith
    0

    Hi, so should this be logged somehow to be an improvement of future versions?

    I guess there is no way to fix this in the RTE for V6.2.6?

    Thanks, Matt

  • Steve Morgan 1346 posts 4453 karma points c-trib
    Nov 28, 2016 @ 11:34
    Steve Morgan
    0

    Hi Matt,

    What version of Umbraco and browser are you using?

    I've just tried to recreate this and in both v6.2.6 and the latest v7 it outputs something like:

        <ul>
    <li>List item 1</li>
    <li>List item 2</li>
    <li>List item 3
    <ul>
    <li>Nested item 1</li>
    <li>Nested item 2</li>
    </ul>
    </li>
    <li>List item 4</li>
    <li>List item 5</li>
    </ul>
    <p> </p>
    
  • Matt Smith 79 posts 110 karma points
    Nov 28, 2016 @ 11:38
    Matt Smith
    0

    Hi Thanks Steve.

    I'm using V626 and Chrome.

    How did you create the nested list? did you use the indent button?

    It could be that we are just doing it incorrectly in the editor?

    Thanks, Matt

  • Steve Morgan 1346 posts 4453 karma points c-trib
    Nov 28, 2016 @ 11:43
    Steve Morgan
    0

    Hi,

    IMHO the editor shouldn't let you create invalid HTML - I just typed a list.. selected the ul list button and then highlighted the nested items and indented them. How are you doing it... provide your steps and I'll recreate it here.

    Sounds weird.

    Steve

  • Matt Smith 79 posts 110 karma points
    Nov 28, 2016 @ 12:10
    Matt Smith
    0

    Hi Steve, so my process was to create one long list of 7 items. Then highlight two of those items and use the RTE indent button to make the nested list. The code generated is:

    <ul>
    <li>one</li>
    <li>two</li>
    <li>three</li>
    <ul>
    <li>first </li>
    <li>second</li>
    </ul>
    <li>four </li>
    <li>five</li>
    </ul>
    

    I also didnt think it would create invalid code. any thoughts welcome :-)

    Thanks, Matt

  • Steve Morgan 1346 posts 4453 karma points c-trib
    Nov 28, 2016 @ 14:07
    Steve Morgan
    0

    What browser are you using? Are you on Windows 10?

    I can't recreate this so there is something on your local environment or a config setting that's doing something different to mine.

    Try comparing /config/tinyMceConfig.config to the one in a standard download and see if there are any differences?

    Steve

  • Matt Smith 79 posts 110 karma points
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 10:00
    Matt Smith
    0

    Hi Steve, Sorry I missed this reply. I use chrome and we are on windows 7 here at work.

    I will try those things - good to know yours creates accessible code out the box at least.

    Thanks, Matt

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft