Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Rachel 5 posts 75 karma points
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 00:59
    Rachel

Memory spike logging into Admin site

We are using Umbraco v6.1.6 (Assembly version: 1.0.5021.24867).

Our server is hosting both the Umbraco website and database: Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard SP1 RAM: 4.00 GB

When we log into the Admin site the memory (not CPU) on the machine spikes up 3.9 GB. It appears that the IIS Worker Process (w3wp.exe) is the culprit. After that we start getting timeouts on the SQL Server and the website just hangs. I will continue to search the forum, but thought I would post here just in case there are some obvious things that I should check. The external website is fine, this is only happening on the internal Admin site on our staging server.

The company is dead set against upgrading to a newer version. I am also new to Umbraco and did not set up the site so please be easy on me.

Thanks! Rachel

• Jonathan Richards 288 posts 1742 karma points MVP
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 17:40
    Jonathan Richards

Hi Rachel,

If I had to guess one reason, out of the million it could be, I would guess you have a corrupt database, and Umbraco can't display the Content section because it has some underlying issue - like the content is recursive (Eg. A content node has a child that is also its own parent). I suppose the easiest answer, if you have multiple environments, is take a copy of the database from one of the other environments.

Though to be honest, so that you understand what you have stated; I've got a Ford Fiesta, its a model from 2002, and it doesn't start. Can you tell me why? It really could be anything. Sorry to be vague.

Cheers

• Rachel 5 posts 75 karma points
    Nov 30, 2016 @ 19:18
    Rachel