Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Louie Yazon 5 posts 85 karma points
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 07:55
    Louie Yazon
    0

    Cannot create user on production server

    Hi all,

    I'm working on my first Umbraco project (v7.4.3) and have found that I really like the CMS. I made a website for a client and everything works fine on my development environment. But when I transferred the entire thing to their AWS production environment, I've run into some trouble manipulating the user nodes.

    In particular, 1) I cannot create new users (when I click create on the dialog, the right side of the screen simply goes white). 2) I cannot change the password of the one user (which came with the imported database from my dev site)

    Not sure if its related, but I'm also getting a 404 error for the gravatar image.after clicking 'create' and console error.

  • Jonathan Richards 288 posts 1742 karma points MVP
    Dec 12, 2016 @ 10:35
    Jonathan Richards
    1

    Hi Louie,

    I can understand why you have debug off, for a production server, but is it possible for you to switch your AWS instance back to debug for a few minutes. The reason I ask, is that you have correctly identified the issue - it is showing right now in your screenshot in the console log, but because you have debug off, its just a unknowable location in DependancyHandler.axd. If you switch debug on, then it will give the correct .js file, and this will help.

    Web.config:-

    <system.web>
       <complication debug="true">
    

    You are correct, the error with gravatar can be ignored, it has no baring on this issue.

    Cheers

  • Louie Yazon 5 posts 85 karma points
    Dec 20, 2016 @ 07:44
    Louie Yazon
    0

    So update, I did as Jonathan suggested and turned debug on, then it eventually lead to me clear out that gravatar error that was showing up in the console.

    With that out of the way, I still can't figure out why I can't create users on my production server. Any help would be appreciated. There are now no console errors reported.

  • Jesper Hauge 298 posts 487 karma points c-trib
    Dec 20, 2016 @ 08:30
    Jesper Hauge
    0

    The user editor uses legacy asp.net controls to edit, the users. I suspect there's a problem with these on your production servers.

    To pinpoint the error you could try keeping debug=true for a short while, try to visit the user section, and then see if you can download the log file, and look for errors in it. Perhaps you can post the log file here.

    The log file is located in /App_Data/Logs/UmbracoTracelog.txt

    Regards Jesper Hauge

  • Louie Yazon 5 posts 85 karma points
    Dec 20, 2016 @ 09:55
    Louie Yazon
    0

    Hi Jasper, thank you for your response. I did like you recommended and have found the problem.

    2016-12-20 17:45:12,308 [P3492/D3/T7] ERROR umbraco.userTasks - Failed to create the user. Error from provider: ProviderError System.ArgumentException: Password length specified must be between 1 and 128 characters. at System.Web.Security.Membership.GeneratePassword(Int32 length, Int32 numberOfNonAlphanumericCharacters) at umbraco.userTasks.PerformSave()

    Am I understanding correctly that the password generator is not generating a valid password?

  • Jesper Hauge 298 posts 487 karma points c-trib
    Dec 20, 2016 @ 12:15
    Jesper Hauge
    101

    Hi again Louie,

    Yes it looks as though something goes wrong when you're creating the user. As far as I can tell from the source code, a new user is created with a temporary password. The arguments to the GeneratePassword method is taken from the configuration of the UsersMembershipProvider in web.config.

    Could you check this tag in your web.config:

    <add name="UsersMembershipProvider"
         type="Umbraco.Web.Security.Providers.UsersMembershipProvider, Umbraco"
         minRequiredNonalphanumericCharacters="0"
         minRequiredPasswordLength="4"
         useLegacyEncoding="true"
         enablePasswordRetrieval="false"
         enablePasswordReset="true"
         requiresQuestionAndAnswer="false"
         defaultMemberTypeAlias="Member"
         passwordFormat="Hashed" />
    

    Check that values for minRequiredPasswordLength and minRequiredNonalphanumericCharacters both are > 0. Maybe that will satisfy the password policies, on your production server.

    Regards Jesper Hauge

  • Louie Yazon 5 posts 85 karma points
    Dec 20, 2016 @ 12:29
    Louie Yazon
    0

    Thanks Jasper! I'll do this as soon as I can and get back to you. (no access to the environment for a few days though, fingers crossed!)

    Edit: I did as Jasper suggested and that solved the problem. Cheers!

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies