Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Brian Milinski 42 posts 165 karma points
    Dec 22, 2016 @ 15:07
    Brian Milinski

Not Working - Forgotten Password? Link Umbraco 7.5.6

Hi,

I am having an issue with a new feature in Umbraco v 7.5.6. I am testing the "Forgotten Password?" link when trying to log in to Umbaco, and when I request that a reset password link be sent to my email, I get the following error:

"Request password reset failed for email -------"

enter image description here

Any insight into this would be helpful. Otherwise I am enjoying the upgrade!

Thanks, Brian

Dec 29, 2016 @ 17:10
    Brian Milinski

Anyone have insight into this !?

• Antoinette Silago 21 posts 92 karma points notactivated
    Dec 29, 2016 @ 17:42
    Antoinette Silago

Yeah, I tried using my email address to get the password and I didn't see anything come through my email. Since I'm just learning, I just started all over again since I was not that far into my project the first time. :(

• Nicholas Westby 2054 posts 7100 karma points c-trib
    Dec 29, 2016 @ 17:58
    Nicholas Westby

Some possibilities:

• SMTP is configured incorrectly in the web.config.
    • A firewall is blocking SMTP traffic.
    • Your email address contains a domain that Umbraco is rejecting due to a faulty regex.
    Dec 29, 2016 @ 18:04
    Nicholas Westby

By the way, if you really can't get the password reset working, you could use this (assuming you have file system access) to reset the password on the root account: https://our.umbraco.org/projects/developer-tools/umbraco-admin-reset/

Dec 29, 2016 @ 18:09
    Brian Milinski