Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Ziv 3 posts 83 karma points
    Jan 01, 2017 @ 19:16
    Ziv
    0

    Installing umbraco with SQL 2012

    I've installed Umbraco 7.5.6 and it worked fine using SqlCE. However I want it to use SQL Server 2012 (on my hosting provider). I followed the documentation and created a new SQL Server database, but when I go into Umbraco's installation process it always uses SqlCe. It does not ask what database I want to use (the doc says it should ask for a database as first setup). I've tried to manually set the connection string to my SQL Server database in web.config, but this generates a 500 error at the setup process.

    What is the correct way to setup Umbraco to use SQL Server?

  • pbl_dk 150 posts 551 karma points
    Jan 01, 2017 @ 19:50
    pbl_dk
    0

    There should be options for every other database type, if you click "Customize" on the first screen in the installation.

  • Ziv 3 posts 83 karma points
    Jan 01, 2017 @ 20:25
    Ziv
    0

    Thanks

  • JDCuster 27 posts 159 karma points
    Jan 01, 2017 @ 19:51
    JDCuster
    100

    During install, Umbraco will ask what database to use - but to get to that point you have to click the "Customize" button instead of the "Install" button when you first launch it in your browser.

    Here is an example of the connection strings configuration section of a web.config.

    You'll notice that the original SQLCE connection string has been commented out.

    <connectionStrings>
    <remove name="umbracoDbDSN"/>
    <add name="umbracoDbDSN" connectionString="server=YOUR_DATABASE_SERVER_ADDRESS;database=YOUR_DATABASE_NAME;user id=YOUR_DATABASE_LOGIN;password=YOUR_DATABASE_PASSWORD" providerName="System.Data.SqlClient"/>
    <!-- <add name="umbracoDbDSN" connectionString="Data Source=|DataDirectory|\Umbraco.sdf;Flush Interval=1;" providerName="System.Data.SqlServerCe.4.0" /> -->
    <!-- Important: If you're upgrading Umbraco, do not clear the connection string / provider name during your web.config merge. -->
    </connectionStrings>
    

    Hope this helps!

  • Ziv 3 posts 83 karma points
    Jan 01, 2017 @ 20:13
    Ziv
    0

    Thanks. This is what I was missing.

  • This forum is in read-only mode while we transition to the new forum.

    You can continue this topic on the new forum by tapping the "Continue discussion" link below.

Please Sign in or register to post replies