Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Robert wood 6 posts 97 karma points
    Mar 16, 2017 @ 15:34
    Robert wood

Inserting Video Banners in Umbraco

Hello I am new to Umbraco and this forum. I am building a site using banner full width images at the top of many pages, one of these I would like to be video (mp4). I have tried all the methods I can think of with no luck. The video appears as a question mark on the page, if you click and open in a new window, the video plays outside of Umbraco.

I don't want to embed from YouTube which is possible as I don't want any interaction between the video and YouTube, links etc.

Does anyone know how to achieve this and provide help please?

• Michaël Vanbrabandt 863 posts 3348 karma points c-trib
    Mar 17, 2017 @ 13:14
    Michaël Vanbrabandt

Hi Robert and Welcome to the Umbraco Community forum!

I have tried all the methods I can think of with no luck.

Can you give some more details on how you are serving the video's on your website? Are these videos located in the Media folder?

/Michaël

• Micha Somers 134 posts 597 karma points
    Mar 17, 2017 @ 13:24
    Micha Somers

If you have

• a Media item uploaded (the mp4 file), and

• a media picker defined in your DocumentType (eg. alias backgroundMovie),

• selected a video in the Content node

then you can use something like the following in your template:

​if (Model.Content.HasValue("backgroundMovie"))
        {
            ​var backgroundMovie = Umbraco.TypedMedia(Model.Content.GetPropertyValue<int>("backgroundMovie"));

<video autoplay loop muted id="background">
                <source src="@backgroundMovie.Url" type="video/mp4">
            </video>        
        }

Mar 17, 2017 @ 13:33
    Robert wood

Hi Michael

Everything failed.