Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• erudit 13 posts 83 karma points
    Mar 19, 2017 @ 20:44
    erudit

Opening Umbraco site from Visual Studio and from a browser

Hello!

I am new to Umbraco and IIS.

I have just installed the latest Umbraco (7.5.x) using NuGet from within Visual Studio (also created a database in the SQL Server and a Site in the IIS Manager).

When I press F5 (Start Debugging) button in Visual Studio, my Umbraco site is successfully opened in the browser and as long as I am in the Debug mode in Visual Studio, I can open a new page and navigate to my URL 'http://localhost:#####' and everything works fine. BUT, as soon as I am exiting the Debug mode or close Visual Studio and manually open the browser and enter the same URL 'http://localhost:#####', then the page cannot be open anymore.

Do you have any idea on how to solve it?

Thank you in advance!

• Alex Skrypnyk 6132 posts 23951 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Mar 19, 2017 @ 22:27
    Alex Skrypnyk

Hello Erudit

When you press F5 in Visual Studio you open website in IIS Express, when you exit from debug it close down. So it works as all asp.net web-sites. Do you want to have possibility to open your web-site without running debug mode? Try to look how to do it - https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/323972/how-to-set-up-your-first-iis-web-site

Thanks,

Alex

Mar 20, 2017 @ 06:52
    erudit

Hi Alex!

Thank you for your quick response!

However, I did actually create the site in IIS (I wrote it in the beginning of the initial post).

Here is what I did:

1) Went to IIS Manager, Sites, right click and chosen 'Add Website' and create a new site 'MyUmbracoCMS'.

enter image description here