Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Victor 25 posts 146 karma points
    Apr 03, 2017 @ 18:15
    Victor

Relation of UmbracoUrlAlias with SEO?

Hello, I've been looking for a few days on UmbracoUrlAlias and UmbracoUrlName. I managed to get both working.

My problem is, if I change all the structure of my website to use the Url Alias instead of Content.Url, will I have problems with SEO? Will my pages show up with the alias or with their primary URL?

I can't use UmbracoUrlName because it only changes the URL in the current structure, and not the structure before it. Example:

mywebsite.com/2015/12/newsarticle

I wanted to be just mywebsite.com/newsarticle (or other name)

I want them to be all shown with the Alias set up by the user, if not, the original URL will be used.

I'm fairly new to Umbraco and SEO, but from what I searched, I believed I'd have to use canonical URL and prioritize the umbraco Url Alias? Can someone confirm me that?

Thanks

My Umbraco version is 7.5.4

• Marc Goodson 2126 posts 14218 karma points MVP 8x c-trib
    Apr 04, 2017 @ 21:05
    Marc Goodson

Hi Victor

Yes umbracoUrlAlias is an additional alias to the normal Url generated by Umbraco, so your content will be available on

mywebsite.com/2015/12/newsarticle

AND

mywebsite.com/newsarticle

so when the same content is available on different urls, then for SEO the best option is to add a link tag specifying the canonical url that you would like search engines to use regardless of the Url that they discover the content via.

One thing to be aware of is that umbracoUrlAlias is a comma delimited list of alternative urls, (eg you can have more than one alias!! - perhaps assume the first one in the list will always be the canonical one)

So something like this may work for you...

@{
        // get the canonical url of the page:
        var currentUri = HttpContext.Current.Request.Url;