Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Kyle Goulding 30 posts 192 karma points
    Jun 05, 2017 @ 14:52
    Kyle Goulding

Umbraco 7.6 Query Builder

Hi,

I am new to Umbraco 7.6 and wanted to try it out for my latest project, but it appears there have been some significant changes in the new release.

I am trying to access the properties of some child nodes but I am struggling. The child nodes don't have a template they are just displayed on the home page.

@{
        var selection = Umbraco.TypedContent(1079).Children("homePageTiles")
                            .Where(x => x.IsVisible());
    }
    <ul>
        @foreach(var item in selection){
            <li>
                <a href="@item.Url">@item.Name</a>
            </li>
        }
    </ul>

How do you access any of the other properties?

Usually I would be able to use @item.aliasName but this doesn't seem to work with the new changes.

I have been able to access the content picker name via @item.GetPropertyValue("contentPicker") but how can I get the URL?

I found an article about how the query builder has change to strongly typed, is this where the issue lies, and if so aren't the partial view snippets still dynamic?

Thanks in advance.

• Søren Kottal 702 posts 4497 karma points MVP 5x c-trib
    Jun 13, 2017 @ 05:59
    Søren Kottal

Hi Kyle

You are probably mixing up the naming conventions for dynamics with strongly typed.

ModelsBuilder usually pascal cases the aliases, meaning that your @item.aliasName would be @item.AliasName.

A rule of thumb, always start your aliases with an uppercase letter when using strongly typed :)

For your contentpicker you can go with @item.ContentPicker.Url, but you should check if the selected content exists, so like this:

if (item.ContentPicker != null) {
      @item.ContentPicker.Url
    }

Jun 13, 2017 @ 08:13
    Kyle Goulding

Hi,