Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Chris Hill 14 posts 114 karma points
    Jun 08, 2017 @ 14:31
    Chris Hill

Blend Umbraco with ASP.Net MVC Site

We have built an extensive custom MVC ecommerce site with all the usual aspects you'd expect - categories, products, basket checkout etc.

Within the site we want to create a whole range of informational content and ideally are looking at using a Umbraco to do this so non tech users can author the content. On the site though this content needs to be accessible from within our current design / navigation so the site looks consistent throughout.

I have some experience of Umbraco as a stand alone CMS / site.

I've had a bit of a google around but can't really find anything about integrating so closely (although I am probably not looking for the right thing) - where do we start? Anyone else done the same sort of thing or know of any decent tutorials?

Would I look at installing Umbraco as per stand alone, but calling it into the other site by way of adding an Application to the site under IIS? (I have done this previously with a Wordpress site in a similar scenario)

Or is there a better way that would allow me to make use of the custom site code within Umbraco as well? (thinking basket summary in header of page etc)

Thanks

• Micha Somers 134 posts 597 karma points
    Jun 08, 2017 @ 16:12
    Micha Somers

Hi Chris,

Maybe as an example to get inspiration for integrating your custom MVC e-commerce site, you can look at Merchello.

Also, at this moment, Umbraco integration is being implemented for NopCommerce. From the discussions and the demo's you may get some ideas of the process to get there, the possibilities, the less easy things to implement, etc. :

http://www.nopcommerce.com/boards/t/41254/lets-discuss-the-upcoming-integration-of-nopcommerce-and-umbraco.aspx

• Nicholas Westby 2054 posts 7100 karma points c-trib