Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Christo 10 posts 80 karma points notactivated
    Aug 07, 2017 @ 09:16
    Christo

Urgent problem cmsPropertyData Over a billion records.

Good day all

I have inherited a Umbraco site and I am still new with the Umbraco.

I have a problem with one of the tables in Umbraco or especially the cmsPropertyData table as it consists of 1 118 860 825 Records so. The problem is I cannot delete the Log file in SQL grows way too big and fails as soon as there is no more space available on the hard drive, I have tried a couple of solutions but I wonder if someone does have a solution to my problem.

Kind Regards

• Alex Skrypnyk 6132 posts 23951 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Aug 07, 2017 @ 09:18
    Alex Skrypnyk

Hi Christo

What version of Umbraco are you using?

The problem is that Umbraco stores previous versions of content items, so with time database grows.

Thanks,

Alex

• Alex Skrypnyk 6132 posts 23951 karma points MVP 7x admin c-trib
    Aug 07, 2017 @ 09:20
    Alex Skrypnyk

Try to use this sql script for clearing database, and don't forget about backup -

-- Umbraco Clear Old Document Versions To Decrease Database Size And Improve Performance
    -- http://borism.net/2008/12/16/fixing-a-large-cmspropertydata-table-in-umbraco/
    DECLARE @createdDate Datetime = DATEADD(m, -1, getdate())

-- dump logs
    -- TRUNCATE TABLE umbracolog -- faster if log table is very big and you don't need anything
    DELETE FROM umbracolog WHERE Datestamp < @createdDate

-- clean up old versions
    DELETE FROM cmsPropertyData WHERE
        versionId NOT IN (SELECT versionId FROM cmsDocument WHERE updateDate > @createdDate OR published = 1 OR newest = 1) AND
        contentNodeId IN (SELECT DISTINCT nodeID FROM cmsDocument)
    DELETE FROM cmsPreviewXml WHERE