Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • Ismail Mayat 4354 posts 9409 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 13:18
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    Load balance on azure index rebuild issue

    So I have on azure umbraco 7.5.13 site. Its a master slave setup. So we have backoffice as master and frontend as slave. Front end does not have /umbraco access. I have followed instructions on our and have set up master slave registrations.

    Two things when my site loads I do not see any entries in the umbracoserver table. The other thing is the internal index will not build. External one builds fine. The error log when rebuilding internal index does give the following error:

    at Examine.LuceneEngine.Providers.LuceneIndexer.RebuildIndex() in X:\Projects\Examine\Examine\src\Examine\LuceneEngine\Providers\LuceneIndexer.cs:line 752 at UmbracoExamine.UmbracoContentIndexer.RebuildIndex() at Umbraco.Web.WebServices.ExamineManagementApiController.PostRebuildIndex(String indexerName) ClientConnectionId:ed65fabc-42be-4c41-9096-5dfee842d32c Error Number:-2,State:0,Class:11 ClientConnectionId before routing:88382140-7485-4377-9d3a-ab58663fea6e Routing Destination:xxxxxxxx,11023

    I have stripped out the db server and replaced with xxxxxxx. On the backoffice master I can login and get to content tree etc so its hitting the db with connection string I have in the web.config. Anyone seen this before?

    Regards

    Ismail

  • Ismail Mayat 4354 posts 9409 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 14:37
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    So a bit more information it looks like http://issues.umbraco.org/issue/U4-7869 we do have 70k items altogether.

    I have also found that we can increase time out https://github.com/umbraco/Umbraco-CMS/pull/1097/files will give that a go see if that works.

  • Jeavon Leopold 3000 posts 13161 karma points MVP 6x admin c-trib
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 15:24
    Jeavon Leopold
    0

    Give that a try, also what type of DB (S0, S1, etc) do you have and have you checked to see how the DTU utilisation is when building the indexes?

  • Ismail Mayat 4354 posts 9409 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 15:45
    Ismail Mayat
    100

    Jeavon,

    I am slowly bumping up dtus its making a difference also increased timeout but think i just need to keep going till it builds. cheers.

    was on s0 im on s2 now with 50 dtus

    Ismail

  • Ismail Mayat 4354 posts 9409 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 15:49
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    Jeavon,

    That did the trick s2 50 dtus.

    Regards

    Ismail

  • Jeavon Leopold 3000 posts 13161 karma points MVP 6x admin c-trib
    Aug 29, 2017 @ 15:53
    Jeavon Leopold
    0

    Ah yes, S0 is tricky, it does work as long as you increase the timeout but S1 is recommended minimum for Umbraco. If you can try to get a elastic pool with a few different projects in it, can make it cheaper and you have more burstable eDTUs.

  • Shannon Deminick 1488 posts 5009 karma points hq
    Aug 30, 2017 @ 00:12
    Shannon Deminick
    0

    umbracoserver is only in use for master election, if you follow the recommended practice here https://our.umbraco.org/documentation/Getting-Started/Setup/Server-Setup/load-balancing/flexible#scheduling-and-master-election then master election does not occur and therefore this table is not populated.

    Some people have asked that we continue populating this table regardless for informational purposes and it's something I'm sure we can do but at the moment that isn't a priority (PRs welcome! :)

    Have you tried out 7.6.5 ? IIRC there are performance enhancements in versions greater than the one you are using.

  • Ismail Mayat 4354 posts 9409 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Aug 30, 2017 @ 15:46
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    In the flexible load balancing docs there is setting:

    directoryFactory="Examine.LuceneEngine.Directories.SyncTempEnvDirectoryFactory,Examine"
    

    do we need this? We have got the azure bits setup. So atm our config looks like:

      <add name="ExternalIndexer" type="UmbracoExamine.UmbracoContentIndexer, UmbracoExamine"
           useTempStorage="Sync"
           tempStorageDirectory="UmbracoExamine.LocalStorage.AzureLocalStorageDirectory, UmbracoExamine"/>
    

    regards

    Ismail

  • Ismail Mayat 4354 posts 9409 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Aug 30, 2017 @ 10:46
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    Shannon,

    Not tried updating as client wont pay for it so we are stuck on 7.5. Increasing timeouts and dtus has got the indexes rebuilding.

    Regards

    Ismail

  • Jeavon Leopold 3000 posts 13161 karma points MVP 6x admin c-trib
    Aug 30, 2017 @ 16:00
    Jeavon Leopold
    0

    If you have Examine v0.1.80+ then use the directoryFactory otherwise what you have is what is recommended for pre v0.1.80

  • Ismail Mayat 4354 posts 9409 karma points MVP 2x admin c-trib
    Aug 30, 2017 @ 16:05
    Ismail Mayat
    0

    i got 0.182 so keep both azure bits and directoryfactory or just directoryfactory?

    Regards

    Ismail

  • Jeavon Leopold 3000 posts 13161 karma points MVP 6x admin c-trib
    Aug 30, 2017 @ 16:07
    Jeavon Leopold
    0

    Just directoryFactory

    Here is our ExamineSettings.config Azure transform file:

    <?xml version="1.0"?>
    <!-- For more information on using app.config transformation visit http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=125889 -->
    <Examine xmlns:xdt="http://schemas.microsoft.com/XML-Document-Transform">
        <ExamineIndexProviders>
            <providers>
                <add directoryFactory="Examine.LuceneEngine.Directories.TempEnvDirectoryFactory,Examine"  xdt:Transform="SetAttributes" />
            </providers>
        </ExamineIndexProviders>
    </Examine>
    
  • Jeavon Leopold 3000 posts 13161 karma points MVP 6x admin c-trib
    Aug 30, 2017 @ 16:09
    Jeavon Leopold
    0

    Make everything so much simpler than it used to be :)

  • Jeavon Leopold 3000 posts 13161 karma points MVP 6x admin c-trib
    Aug 30, 2017 @ 16:14
    Jeavon Leopold
    0

    SyncTempEnvDirectoryFactory is available in Examine v0.1.80+

    This is equivalent to what you had before but "better"

    TempEnvDirectoryFactory is only available in Examine v0.1.83+

    This is even better as it doesn't need to sync and you don't have to tokenise the index paths

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft