Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Bex 444 posts 555 karma points
    Nov 01, 2017 @ 12:01
    Bex

Duplicating site and all Document Types and Templates in a Single Umbraco

Hi All

I am running Umbraco 7.3.0

I (to start with) want two identical copies of the same site within the same Umbraco but both running off their own templates/views and document types. The First site has already been created and populated. I am now making a copy.

I know this is may not be the best way of doing this but it's what's I've been asked to do. The reason for this is so that each site can be accessed via the same Umbraco Admin, but although each site will start very similar they may eventually become quite different and we don't want one affecting the other.

I have copied everything including the document types but I am finding any overridden properties on child doc types aren't showing up.

Example:

I have a Master Doc type with a load of properties/tabs. Below this I have a Home Document Type that inherits all the properties of Master as well as having some of it's own.

On the original [Home] document type a few properties have been added to one of the inherited tabs.

When I copied the Master and Home document type to Master2 and Home2 I expected Home2 to still inherit from Master2 (which it does) as well as any of the extra properties added to Home to also appear on Home2. This has not happened, only the inherited ones are showing up.

If I try adding these properties to the Home2 document type it tells me

the property already exists

but I cannot see them.

I assume this is something to do with the Home Document Type still somehow referencing the original Master but getting confused as now it's inheriting from Master2.

So my question(s) are:

Is this meant to happen or is it a bug?

Should I have done it a different way?

What's my work around?