Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at


  • David Zweben 268 posts 753 karma points
    Mar 07, 2018 @ 16:06
    David Zweben
    0

    Help choosing a Models Builder mode?

    Hi,

    I'm starting a new project, and I am trying to decide on the right Models Builder mode to use. Some info: It's going to be a large website with some moderately complicated backend code. I need to keep document types updatable by non-Visual Studio users, so API mode is out. I want to get Intellisense for those who do use VS, though, and I want to keep the code unit testable, so PureLive mode is out too.

    I like the idea of AppData mode, but does it require compilation in Visual Studio to work?

    One thing I'm unsure about: is there any reason I should put the generated Models in source control? If not, Dll mode might be a good fit.

    Any suggestions or opinions would be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    David

  • Daniel Chenery 119 posts 465 karma points
    Mar 08, 2018 @ 00:12
    Daniel Chenery
    1

    I use AppData mode, and yes you will need VS to compile them (and include them in the project)

    I'd also recommend putting them in source control if using AppData mode too, otherwise the project won't build without them!

  • Alex Skrypnyk 6150 posts 24110 karma points MVP 8x admin c-trib
    Mar 08, 2018 @ 05:03
    Alex Skrypnyk
    1

    Hi David

    If you are not going to change Models via code, Dll mode is totally ok, you just use this dll

    /Alex

  • David Zweben 268 posts 753 karma points
    Mar 08, 2018 @ 15:27
    David Zweben
    0

    Thanks for the reply. So you cannot control model generation in DLL mode like you can in AppData mode?

    If so, in what cases would you need to control model generation? I'm not sure if I need that capability or not.

    Thanks,
    David

  • Michaël Vanbrabandt 863 posts 3348 karma points c-trib
    Mar 08, 2018 @ 15:29
    Michaël Vanbrabandt
    1

    Hi David,

    we have multiple projects in our solution ( Core and UI ), therefore we use dll mode so we can reference to this in our other project.

    Hope this helps.

    /Michaël

  • David Zweben 268 posts 753 karma points
    Mar 08, 2018 @ 15:45
    David Zweben
    0

    Thanks, good to hear that someone with a similar setup is using DLL mode successfully.

  • Michaël Vanbrabandt 863 posts 3348 karma points c-trib
    Mar 08, 2018 @ 15:55
    Michaël Vanbrabandt
    2

    David,

    no problem! That's why this community is here for, to share and help each other!

    /Michaël

Please Sign in or register to post replies

Write your reply to:

Draft