Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Tessa 20 posts 72 karma points
    Apr 03, 2018 @ 19:53
    Tessa

App pool keeps stopping and I need help debugging <3

Hello! I am a website developer that came from frontend development and learning the rest and I know just about nothing when it comes to servers and databases. At this point, I'm so frustrated, I don't even know where to go to post my questions so I'm hoping you guys can help me out.

Bascially, every couple of days, my Umbraco website goes down between 2-3am EST when I'm sleeping with a 503 error. I know this from monitoring it at UpTimeRobot.com.

I've contacted my host provider and they are pretty much useless when it comes to debugging the issue, so I log into plesk and "recycle the app pool" (I put that in quotes because I don't know what it means but maybe you do) and that gets the site back up.

Rinse and repeat every few nights.

Now my question is this... how do I find out what's causing it to crash? Where do I even start to look for the log files?

I found some under /App_Data/Logs/UmbracoTraceLog.{server name here}.txt but I don't know what to look for in that file.

I've also found some interesting log files in my site root (outside of the public folder) under /logs/iis/{some string of numbers that differentiates my sites and subdomains}/u_extend{index number}.log, but again, I've no idea what to look for.

What information can I provide you to help me debug this issue? Please and thank you so much!!

• Nik 1599 posts 7179 karma points MVP 6x c-trib
    Apr 03, 2018 @ 20:03
    Nik

Hi Tessa,

I would start by looking in the UmbracoTraceLog,{server name here}.txt file that has a date stamp that matches the most recent date of the issue. In there I would be looking for any lines that contain the word "ERROR".