Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Mark Watson 118 posts 384 karma points
    May 30, 2018 @ 04:37
    Mark Watson

Documentation for newbies

I am beginning to work out what all the coding means. However I have a few staff that I would like to learn razor as well.

The initial videos are fine to follow but when you are past the basics and looking at simple coding that most sites need like hiding empty fields you need to search online for examples and this takes a while.

As a business owner I am a little concerned that learning by trial and error will take a long time and is not commercially viable for my paid staff. After all they will be expected to be paid while they are learning.

Is there any courses or central documentation to teach the basics other than online searches?

• Jan Skovgaard 11280 posts 23678 karma points MVP 10x admin c-trib
    May 30, 2018 @ 05:55
    Jan Skovgaard

Hi Mark

It would no doubt be very beneficial to send your staff on Umbraco training, which you can read more about here https://umbraco.com/training/

Which parts of the documentation have you been exploring? And is it more examples you need for different contexts? I think it's also a question about defining a line between what is Umbraco specific and what is Razor specific since Razor is of course something that one can learn outside of an Umbraco context as well.

But perhaps some of the examples found in the documentation can be extended for more use cases.

/Jan

May 30, 2018 @ 06:23
    Mark Watson

Thanks Jan

I am replicating our more simple sites to see if umbraco is a fit for us. We have the basics of umbraco by following the videos and built the site structure, but finding hard to find the appropriate razor syntax/examples to display what we want to.