Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Lewis Smith 208 posts 617 karma points c-trib
    May 30, 2018 @ 14:54
    Lewis Smith

AWS server cannot connect to database

Hi all,

I'm in the deployment stage of a website I'm working on and the website which is hosted on AWS is failing to connect to my database which is hosted on another server.

This is my first time setting things up on AWS. Everything is set up and the site is loading but throwing me the Umbraco cannot start. A connection string is configured but Umbraco cannot connect to the database. error.

When I take the site and run it locally it connects to the database as expected so it must be something to do with the environments. Could anyone shed some light?

I have tried creating a new user, then tried logging into the server as this user i created to ensure that this user could see all the database tables and data (which it could).

I have also replaced the server name with the server IP address where the database is, EG it was SQL01 and now its the 10.5.blah.blah.

Help!!!

Lewis

• Andy Felton 185 posts 484 karma points c-trib
    May 30, 2018 @ 15:07
    Andy Felton

Hi Lewis,

We use AWS for our hosting and it normally works assuming the VPC and network is configured correctly. I will try and help more but need some additional information. Firstly is your database also on AWS as an RDS, are the database and EC2 in the same VPC?

Andy

May 30, 2018 @ 15:19
    Lewis Smith

Hi Andy,

The database is not on AWS. It is hosted on a different server (hosted locally in my office) This means the database and EC2 are no in the same VPC.

Thanks, Lewis

May 30, 2018 @ 15:46
    Andy Felton

Hi Lewis,